Premium audio. Made simple.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RobertMW
Binge Watcher

Roku Streambar Pro (9101x) popping noise after an update

I am having a very similar problem that seems to only happen when streaming music via bluetooth from an Android phone. My Streambar Pro was updated to OS 12.5 on Oct 31 2023 and the popping noises began immediately in the Subwoofer Pro and the right-rear speaker (so far as I can tell). This is most certainly related to OS 12.5, since I had been using the streambar for 2-3 months (since new) under OS 12.0 and it was working flawlessly with bluetooth music. I listen to Amazon Music via the phone and the issue happens at all streaming levels (SD, HD, UHD, Atmos, Sony 360). (The issue also happens on Spotify Free.) The (dull) popping is random, although like others, I have noticed some relation to bass activity, but not always. I have tried many steps to solve, short of small-animal sacrifice, without success.

Against my better judgment, I was talked into factory resetting the streambar by the Roku phone support person. It was a hassle and was fruitless, as my intuition had presumed. Since a moderately alert schoolboy could surmise this is a problem with OS 12.5, we should all demand a revert to OS 12.0 until they can figure this out.

Please, Roku personnel, don't run me around in any more needless circles, (e.g., factory resets, videos). You have plenty of symptoms from all of these users to be able to fix this. Please also update your phone personnel's troubleshooting scripts so that they won't need to have customer do any 'make work' exercises. 

My components:  TCL Roku TV (updated to OS 12.5 very early in Oct with no problems), Streeambar Pro, 4 Roku wirelesss speakers, Roku wireless submoofer (the large one). Phone: Samsung Gal A13 (Androd 13), Amazon Music Android.

Labels (1)
47 REPLIES 47
Sjk4x4
Channel Surfer