Remotes

Learn how to reset a Roku remote, how a Roku remote works, or pair a new remote.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gregger77
Streaming Star

Mixed Success: Pairing a Stick's Voice Remote via CEC vs RF

Jump to solution

Hi all, total newbie here. I just got a new Roku Stick 4K and plugged it into my Onkyo TX-NR509 AV Receiver. (Yes, I know, Roku doesn't officially support remote control of AVRs.) The receiver feeds video to my old Panasonic TH-50PX50U TV.

After following the remote pairing process, I found the Roku Voice Remote was able to control power and volume of the TV itself. Controlling TV volume was not useful since the TV's little speakers are kept turned off.

I set the AVR to enable CEC control, but the Roku defaults to RF mode, so it did not pass along any commands via CEC mode; it kept controlling the TV. So I disabled RF on the Voice Remote (secret platform menu), and now:

• Home button turns on AVR (if not already on) and switches HDMI input to the Stick 4K
  • Volume button controls AVR volume
  • TV Power button does nothing. Not sure why it won't turn off the AVR. I've disconnected everything, unplugged power from everything, etc. a couple of times, but still no dice.

I wish I could find a way to make the TV Power button do something but, since I've disabled RF, it obviously can't do anything for the TV.

So I'm still stuck with having to use a separate remote for one thing, and one thing alone: Turn the TV on and off. I guess the only cure is to buy a learning universal remote and teach it all three devices' commands.

1. Have I missed something?
  2. If I haven't, is there a Universal that you folks like in particular for use with Roku?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
gregger77
Streaming Star

Re: Mixed Success: Pairing a Stick's Voice Remote via CEC vs RF

Jump to solution

I wanted to offer an update to my old post for reference purposes.