Features, settings & updates

Get troubleshooting tips to configure your Roku settings. The community forum has tips for screen mirroring, Guest Mode, software updates, audio, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
maui5150

AVOID Roku Ultra 2024 if you use USB HUB

Just got a Roku Ultra 2024 and if you are like me, and have Terabytes of Media on multiple External Drives AVOID THE Ultra 2024.

I have been connecting 3 or more drive to my Roku devices for many years, I think going back to the Roku 3 or 4.

For Early devices, Roku provided enough power via USB to power the drives with no problem.

Starting with Ultra, Roku cut the power over USB to do more I believe with the WiFi so I went to a powered USB hub - solved the issue. 

Just picked up the New 2024 Ultra and no bueno - if I connect the USB Hub, it reads NO DEVICES.  If I unplug the Hub and plug in an individual drive, Allow it, it works fine.  I restarted the Hub, individually plugged in and authorized each drive (I have 4) then restarted everything... Nothing  NO DRIVES recognized and getting the stupid DLNA message and no devices / media found.

Plugged back in the 2022 - No problem.  All works fine

I am sure that many like me chose the Ultra to specifically play our extensive libraries - in my case I have a drive for TV Shows, one for Horror, on for documentaries/concerts - and One for Series (Superheros, Bond, etc., just to try and keep my external drives to 5TB each. 

Definite deal killer for me.  Really hoped the Media player would be improved with better handling of formats, better searching, bookmarks, frame advance fast or slow-mo frame by frame, but instead, looks like is on capable of a single device.  On the 2022, it reads the hub and presents each drive as a folder and you navigate as expected.

Very disappointed

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
3 REPLIES 3
maui5150

Re: AVOID Roku Ultra 2024 if you use USB HUB