Solving playback issues

Find troubleshooting tips and resources for Roku playback speed issues, HDCP messages, power issues, and more. Join the community discussion for assistance.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sicjedi
Streaming Star

Re: Problem reading USB through Media Player

I’m having a similar problem. I’m using a TCL Roku TV: model 65S555, Hardware ID J106X, Software version 12.5.0 build 4175-DK.

What I am seeing is that I get that lame dialog message: “Allow access to external media the external media?”

For one thing, that is totally retarded question. They should fire the developer that put that in—and yes, I am a software developer, so I know what I’m talking about. The USB Drive is there to be used. It should not be accessed at all unless you launch the Roku Media Player—and there should be no dialog message or request for this.

For other Roku apps that want to access the USB Drive, there could be a dialog message for this, or better, a setting in Settings: but only when you use those apps.

There should never be a time that Roku is checking the contents of the USB drive and asking about it every time you boot up or use Roku. That is just stoopid.

What happens to my Roku, is that when I am using the USB drive, ever since a few weeks ago or so, is that the USB data plays for somewhere between 5-25 minutes, and then then Roku just bounces to the home screen. And when I launch the Roku Media Player again, it does not immediately go to the media that I was just using. It launches with the screen that you get when you first launch the Roku Media Player.

This bug has been too annoying, and too long in being not fixed yet: the person responsible for creating the bug and not fixing is should be fired. There is just no excuse for this type of shoddy work.

0 Kudos
atc98092
Community Streaming Expert

@sicjedi wrote: