Smart home app

Learn how to use the Roku home app to control the smart devices in your home. Join the online community forum for troubleshooting tips and helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Tr72
Reel Rookie

Trying to watch motion events freezes smart home app

Jump to solution

Just to preface in case any of this is relevant, I have a Roku subscription for my Indoor Camera and recently put in a freshly formatted SD Card for recording motion events. I'm not sure if its the SD card and if so what I can do about it, but anytime I get a motion notification or try to open a motion event through the "events" tab in my Roku smart home app it tries to open the clip but just shows a still frame with the "loading" spinning circle and freezes. I can't watch the clip, can't click anything or go back, can't do anything at all besides force close the app. I'm never able to actually see what the motion was or if anything's wrong in my house, making the whole camera kind of useless...hoping someone can help me fix this or at least explain what's causing this. Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RokuArjiemar
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

Re: Trying to watch motion events freezes smart home app

Jump to solution

Hello! @Tr72,

Thanks for posting here in the Roku Community!

We appreciate your inquiry about viewing the event recording on your Roku Indoor Camera and are happy to assist you.

You can find your event recordings on the Roku Smart Home app in the Events tab. You must purchase a smart home subscription to view event video recordings saved to the cloud. If you do not have a subscription, you can only view a still image of the event. On the Events screen, tap an event to watch the video or view the image. If you want to view recordings saved to a micro SD card, you need to remove the micro SD card from the camera and watch it on your computer.

How to set up continuous recordings