Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rymawby
Binge Watcher

Developing SceneGraph app - bricked 2 boxes

Hi,

I was wondering if anybody has ever come across this issue. I've been developing apps for Roku for a few years and have never bricked a box before - until today. I've managed to brick a Roku 4 and a Roku 3.

I'm developing a scenegraph application and I've found every so often my box would crash, although frustrating I'd just need to restart the box and all would be well.

Twice today after a crash (on 2 different boxes) I've restarted the boxes and they hang on the boot up ident screen (http://d.wegoodhq.com/15ToG) and never gets past it.

Anybody got any ideas how to get around this issue? I'm going to be out of boxes to develop on soon!

Thanks in advance.
0 Kudos
8 REPLIES 8
rymawby
Binge Watcher

Re: Developing SceneGraph app - bricked 2 boxes

Up to 4 bricked boxes now!

I can hard factory reset the 3s but the 4 doesn't have a button so I don't think I can do that.

Also I'd prefer not having to set everything up again everytime - so if anybody has any ideas why I'd really appreciate it!

Thanks again.
0 Kudos
RokuJoel
Binge Watcher

The Roku 4 does have a button on the bottom, in the Rubber area, near the front, it should say "Reset" on it. Can you private message me a dropbox or other link to download a zip that reproduces the problem?

Thanks,

- Joel
0 Kudos
rymawby
Binge Watcher

Hey Joel - thanks for pointing that out! At least it's not bricked.

I've got the issue in a git stash - I'll fire you over a zip shortly.

Thanks again!

Ry.
0 Kudos
adamkaz
Channel Surfer