Remotes

Learn how to reset a Roku remote, how a Roku remote works, or pair a new remote.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Roku remote suddenly stopped controlling Streambar

I have a Roku Streambar that the remote suddenly started controlling the TV volume, and not the Streambar. I tried another Roku remote, and the universal remote we use to control both, and only the volume on the TV goes up or down. In turn, this does not adjust the sound at all. I found I can only control the volume on the Streambar through the Roku app. I have an older LG TV, and Streambar is connected via HDMI and Optical for audio. I tried another HDMI port, as well as checked all connections. I also tried resetting the Roku, but no matter what remote I use, it only controls the TV volume and not the Streambar volume. Any ideas?

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 REPLY 1
RokuCarly
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

Re: Roku remote suddenly stopped controlling Streambar

Greetings from the Roku Community, @ramsesfan13!

We appreciate you reaching out. We'd be more than happy to assess your concern better and help you find the best resolution.

Before proceeding, may we know if this is the remote that came with your Roku Streambar? If not, kindly let us know what the specific remote is with the help of our support article: Identify your Roku remote

In the meantime, we suggest the steps provided below to see if this will make any difference:

Reset your remote

If your voice remote uses standard AA or AAA alkaline batteries, you can reboot it by removing and reinstalling the batteries.

1. Remove the battery cover on the back of your remote
  2. Remove both batteries from the battery compartment
  3. Re-insert the negative (-) end of a battery first and then gently push the positive (+) end until the battery clicks into place
  4. Repeat the previous step to install the second battery
  5. Put the battery cover back on your remote