Channels & viewing

Are your Roku channels not working? Find troubleshooting tips for adding/removing channels, logging in, authentication, activation, playback issues, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tejanita

Re: How to watch local channels?

Jump to solution

I have a Sharp TV unit in my kitchen, and where I plugged the Roku device. 

0 Kudos
Rags7764
Reel Rookie

Re: How to watch local channels's ?

Jump to solution

You might try scanning channels on the new device in kitchen. Sounds like you might not have. Sounds like it's getting it's info from your living room tv. I'm quite new at this so good luck to you anyhow. Eric

0 Kudos
Rags7764
Reel Rookie

Jump to solution

Brand new _ROKU_ tv in box delivered by Walmart. Look man it's a Roku tv alright.

0 Kudos
atc98092
Community Streaming Expert

Jump to solution

@tejanita wrote:

How do I get the numbers on my TV with this new ROKU device, I cannot find any local channels or number as I scroll down to find them, can't see any of my local channels. Need some assistance with this, thank you. 

What Roku "device"? If you have a Roku player (that connects to a TV with an HDMI cable or plugs directly into an HDMI port) it doesn't show local TV channels, period. It does not have a TV tuner and is not capable of displaying OTA TV. There are network based TV tuners (such as one from Silicon Dust) that you can connect to an antenna and using the HDHR app on a Roku watch OTA TV. But that's the only way a Roku player can show OTA TV. 

Dan

Roku Community Streaming Expert

Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution."
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Kudo.

I am not a Roku employee, just another user.
0 Kudos
atc98092

Jump to solution

@Rags7764 you can understand why we have to ask. The comment above yours is trying to find OTA channels on a Roku player, not a Roku TV. We have to be certain what kind of Roku device is being used.