Channels & viewing

Are your Roku channels not working? Find troubleshooting tips for adding/removing channels, logging in, authentication, activation, playback issues, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Psilobite
Roku Guru

Audio Volume Modes (Volume Leveling) don't work correcrly on new Roku Ultra 2022

I recently tried to upgrade my Roku Ultra 2017 (4660X) with a Roku Ultra 2022 (4802X).

I purchased at Amazon (shipped and sold by Amazon) - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B09T4VZDYV/

(I noticed that the Roku Ultra 2022 was much lighter in weight than the Roku Ultra 2017. I didn't weigh them, but it is quite noticeable.)

Everything went fine with setting up the Roku Ultra 2022 until I started playing media, in **any** channel or application, and the behavior of the sound was **very** different than the Roku Ultra 2017.

I have a stereo soundbar, so the connection goes from HDMI on Roku -> HDMI on TV, then Toslink Digital Audio Fiber Optic output on TV -> Toslink input on the soundbar. I configured both Roku's exactly the same way, with Audio set to "Stereo".

There are three sound leveling settings: "Leveling", "Night", and "Off".

On the Roku Ultra 2022, no matter what leveling setting I use, the audio sounds like it has a "pumping" effect going on, like the volume is being gain ridden slightly up and slightly down constantly. It does this even if leveling is set to "Off".