Cameras & doorbells

Discover how to use Roku cameras and doorbells in your home. Join the community discussion for installation tips, troubleshooting, resources, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Motion Event videos not playing only showing a still photo

Jump to solution

My cameras have been set up for months and they’ve worked fine. Just recently when motion is detected, it will record a video but when I play back, it doesn’t play the video. There’s just a still photo of the event. 
My detection settings are perfect, And the event recording settings are on and good to go. I’m just not sure why I can’t play back the video even though I have a subscription that I’m paying for..

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RokuRiamie-D
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

Re: recorded events won’t load correctly to one phone

Jump to solution

Hi @masonallena,

Welcome to the Roku Community!

We understand that your Roku Cameras event recording does not play on your Roku Smart Home app. We'd be more than willing to sort this out for you.

Before we continue, we would like to know if you see a live stream on your Roku camera. In the meantime, let's see if this will work for you:

• Uninstall the Roku Smart Home app and install it again
  • Try downloading the Roku Smart Home app on a different mobile phone or tablet and logging in with the same Roku account credentials.
  • Restart the Roku Cameras: For instructions on how to restart your smart home device, visit our Roku support article.

If the issue persists, we highly suggest to set up again the camera:

You do not need to remove your smart home device from the mobile app to set it up again. Simply follow the steps below and see if that resolves your issue.

1. Open the Home screen
  2. Tap the plus sign from the navigation bar
  3. Select Add device
  4. Select your device category and then select a device
  5. Follow the on-screen instructions