Wi-Fi & connectivity

Having Roku connectivity problems? Get the help and troubleshooting tips you need for Roku wireless connection issues, ethernet connections, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
anime_ted
Channel Surfer

Streaming Stick+ can connect to network but gives error 003

On its initial boot, my 3810X Streaming Stick+ is connecting to the Internet, failing to update, and returning error 003. The device will not bypass the update so it is unusable.

I have attempted to connect the device using three different known-good access points, including a hotspot.

I have some network knowledge and tools, and have looked at the unencrypted network traffic from the device. It is connecting to the Internet and is contacting Roku's servers. I can see that the device is sending requests to these servers and receiving responses saying access is forbidden or denied.

Anyone have any similar experience? The developer channel says this device is still eligible for updates.

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
8 REPLIES 8
HDMIGuy
Roku Guru

Re: Streaming Stick+ can connect to network but gives error 003

@anime_ted I would try a factory reset of the device.  Should be a button or pin hole in the stick for a factory reset.

0 Kudos
anime_ted
Channel Surfer

@HDMIGuy Thanks for the quick response. I forgot to mention that I did also reset the device. I'm pretty sure that worked because I had to re-select my Wi-Fi access point and enter the credentials again. Unfortunately the device still would not update.

0 Kudos
AvsGunnar
Community Streaming Expert

@anime_ted 

It is a bit curious that the hotspot did not work for you.

If using both your network and the hotspot failed, would seem that the server you are attempting to is having trouble recognizing the device. (as a valid connection, or the update server for your device may be having a temporary issue).