Solving playback issues

Find troubleshooting tips and resources for Roku playback speed issues, HDCP messages, power issues, and more. Join the community discussion for assistance.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Model 55R6A5R live tv USB stick issue

As I have noticed, I am not the only person to have this issue. I should also mention that I am a retired Electrical/Software/Controls Engineer so I am somewhat versed in electrical and software problems. The problem that I am having is that when a USB memory stick is installed to enable live tv pause, occasionally anywhere from 5 minutes apart to 30 minutes apart, the picture and sound will repeat the previous 1/2 second of information. Then because the picture and sound are out of synch, the set will fast play the next 1/2 to 1 second to catch up. I have occasionally backed up or rewound to a point before this occurred and played back from that point and discovered that it is recorded that way and will play back distorted also.

Now, you should also know that I have tried various memory sticks from just as specified to super fast USB 3.1. Not one is any better than another. I have formatted and reformatted, on the set and the computer, full scan and quick scan - there is no difference. This was per advice received from Roku. I asked for a proven part number of a USB drive that I could use. There is apparently none, because the reply is to try something else. Now I can't even find the Chat Bot on their site.