Roku Direct Publisher

Roku Direct Publisher - the easiest way to create a great TV experience. Learn more about how to create a Roku channel and share your experiences with others.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
detuli
Visitor

Custom Authentication in Direct publisher

Hi,

I am new to Roku Development Framework, and found Direct Publisher to be a great tool to develop Channel without any coding. I am planning to create a Private Channel, but need to have it authentication based. Every user will have a user name and password (much like Netflix). Is it possible to use Direct Publisher with custom authentication?

Thanks in advance for your time on this.
Deepak
0 Kudos
5 REPLIES 5
RokuTomC
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

Re: Custom Authentication in Direct publisher

Direct Publisher does not currently support authentication services or account personalization. Such functionality may be added in the future, though.
0 Kudos
bwschulz
Visitor

Hey don't worry about paid subscribers being authenticated - that sounds like too much trouble. Apparently someone in high enough authority has an easy solution to that pesky security question. It was the same one users in the early 90s devised to make their file folders easy to open for their coworkers - just Share the whole C:/ Drive with Access All set to Full. This saved countless hours of work and boosted productivity everywhere we find resources with full access to the root directory because one user, service principle, or application interface had programmers who ignored every IC3 or Cyber Command memo since conFlicker II or ghostnet or Zeusbot32 ... the schulz
0 Kudos
mitchstein
Roku Guru

"bwschulz" wrote: