Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Suitie
Visitor

left and right always fired twice!!

First of all, I am a very beginner in Roku development, so I am sorry if my question is silly... I've followed all tutorials available and now I am trying to create a little app just to learn... but i get an "error" in the simplest function, and I am frustrated
My code:
'''
sub init()
     m.top.setFocus(true)
End sub
function onKeyEvent(key as String, press as Boolean) as Boolean
    if (key = "left") then 
        print "pressing left"
        return true
    end if
    if (key = "right") then 
        print "pressing right"
        return true
    end if
    return false
end function
'''
What I get when I press "left":
pressing left
pressing left
OnKeyEvent is fired twice whenever I press a key, the first one when the key is down, and the second one when it is up. Why is this happening? Where is the mistake? 
0 Kudos
8 REPLIES 8
squirreltown
Roku Guru

Re: left and right always fired twice!!

Button press and button release are two different events.
Kinetics Screensavers
0 Kudos
RokuNB
Roku Guru

Check the `press` param - the first time it's `true`, the second - `false`. You get notified once when user presses the button and 2nd time when they release it - this is helpful e.g. when writing games or scrolling through lists. It's up to you to decide which one of the 2 cases is the action item for you.

"onKeyEvent()" wrote:
The press parameter is a boolean value that is true if the key was pressed, and false if the key was released.
0 Kudos
Suitie
Visitor

Thank you! I get it now 
0 Kudos
tim_beynart
Channel Surfer