Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
caglar

combine sgdex timegrid with video

Hello. I am new to Roku development and I got lost. I am working on SGDEX timeGrid epg example. For days I have been tracing the code and trying to understand how it works. I was able to make some changes.  I added url to json files so each channel and program has its unique URL. I also examined their video example. What I am trying to do is when clicked on a program item on EPG it should open a video with the URL the program has. Following is the onclick function

sub OnProgramSelected(event as Object)
        print "Entering TimeGridView.brs OnProgramSelected()"
        timeGrid = event.GetRoSGNode()
        m.top.rowItemSelected = [timeGrid.channelSelected, timeGrid.programSelected]

print timeGrid.programSelected
        print timeGrid.channelSelected
        print m.top.rowItemSelected
        print m.view.content.getChild(0)  'prints the channel
        print m.view.content.getChild(timeGrid.channelSelected).getChild(timeGrid.programSelected) 'prints the program

myNode = CreateObject("roSGNode", "ContentNode")
        myNode.focusable = false
        myNode.id = 1
        myNode.title = "Live Gaming Sample Content 1"
        myNode.URL = "https://some url.." 'I will pass the program url if this test works

print myNode

OpenVideoPlayerItem(myNode)

print "Exiting TimeGridView.brs OnProgramSelected()"
    end sub

I took OpenVideoPlayerItem() function completely from SGDEX video example which is as follows:

function OpenVideoPlayerItem(contentItem as Object) as Object
      ' Create MediaView Object and set its fields
      video = CreateObject("roSGNode", "MediaView")
      video.content = contentItem
      video.isContentList = false