Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Fran_3
Visitor

Programmer needs Channel Setup Quick Start Help

We want to setup a 24/7 Roku channel with both pre-produced and live content.

Yea, I've got a lot of reading but I'm hopeful some kind soul will help out with a quick start...

- I've done a fair amount of programming but it has been awhile.
- I've written in Assembly Language, Visual Basic,, HTML, ASP, Some PHP. Some C, and Some SQL.
- I'm familar with the concepts of Object Oriented Programming with Objects, Properties, Instances, etc... but I'm far from an expert 🙂

And, I'm short on time... (who isn't 🙂

Some questions:
1 - I'm wondering how complicated and involved it is to implement such a channel on Roku?
2 - Is this a long weekend project or days or weeks of ramp up and coding?
3 - Does the SDK run on a Windows Platform or will we have to setup a Linux machine?
4 - Any quick start tutorial videos that show a sample channel being setup?
5 - Do we stream from our studio content directly from our studio or does Roku want everything uploaded ?
6 - Can we run our content "live" meaning advertise a schedule and have the shows running when a viewer tunes in or is it all "on Demand"
7 - If we choose to pay a developer... what is going rate or rate range?

Thanks for any help!
0 Kudos
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Visitor

Re: Programmer needs Channel Setup Quick Start Help

Hi Fran,

Let's see some answers, but feel free to drop me a line if you want to discuss it further.

1) If it's free (ie doesn't need integration with a billing system) and the content is already available vis (m)rss or APIs and is in the right format to play, not too long.
2) Again, depending. With an experienced programmer and the content available, graphics would likely be the long pole.