Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
olav

Pre/Post Roll Ads?

hi guys,

I'm new to the roku SDK and I've built a app/channel based on the videoplayer example in the SDK. I also built a db/php backend for the XML.

Anyways I'd like to implement pre roll and post roll clips for the movies, and I was wondering if anyone had done that or if anyone had some examples????

thanks!
0 Kudos
27 REPLIES 27
kbenson
Visitor

Re: Pre/Post Roll Ads?

Not that I have a lot of experience with it yet, but if you use HLS, you could just tack on the videos to the beginning and end of the playlist. From my understanding, you could even put them in the middle, if you computed the timestamps all correctly.
-- GandK Labs
Check out Reversi! in the channel store!
0 Kudos
Anonymous
Visitor

"olav" wrote:
hi guys,

I'm new to the roku SDK and I've built a app/channel based on the videoplayer example in the SDK. I also built a db/php backend for the XML.

Anyways I'd like to implement pre roll and post roll clips for the movies, and I was wondering if anyone had done that or if anyone had some examples????

thanks!

You can do it with the roVideoPlayer, but you'll need to wire up all the transport controls yourself and will get rebuffers between videos, if that's acceptable.
0 Kudos
FML2010
Visitor

Patrick how would we do this?

would you add this in the showfeed section ?
0 Kudos
RokuChris
Roku Employee
Roku Employee