Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Offer: $500 to customize "videoplayer" template

Offer: $500 to customize the Roku SDK's "videoplayer" template

We're trying to start our own channel but I'm not a programmer and our web guy can't readily speak the Roku SDK language.

What we need, modified from the videoplayer template:

1) Using the template, there's an extra subcategory that's not needed.

In other words, it goes Technology -> "The Mind" or "Global Issues"

We need "The Mind" and "Global Issues" layer removed. (Selecting Technology would just show the arced-16x9 list of videos.)

2) It seems that the template has half the settings embedded in the .brs files and half in the XML. I'd much rather it all be in the XML file. For example, the StarRating is in the .brs file, so all the videos have the same 4 out of 5 star rating. That doesn't even make sense. Yet I can't seem to get them into the XML file. The items shown in the roku developer .zip file (documents/RokuDvp-ComponentReference.pdf - page 9) don't match up with the XML items.

Ideally, -all- the things that can be set for each video would be in the XML files.

3) a. On the "video information screen" it needs a widescreen version of the image. Right now, it's squished into a 4x3 space.
b. It would be nice if it had the same "resume playing" and "play from beginning" like Netflix (if possible).
c. The description area is too small. (It's much larger on the Netflix screen.)

4) The XML should contain an array so that the Roku downloads the bandwidth appropriate choice. RokuDvp-ComponentReference.pdf - page 9 shows the list, but I'm missing something.