Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Arwen
Channel Surfer

New channel idea - Amazon Kindle Reader for Roku

Recently I started playing with Amazon's Cloud Player channel. I don't have many songs
installed, but I have bought all my MP3s from them, (as Amazon does not have as many
problems using non-Amazon players that a certain other source does have.) It even
allowed me to play songs from a CD I bought from Amazon.

Well that got me thinking, (I know, always a bad sign :). I also have a few books in my
Kindle Reader application on my non-Amazon tablet. It works good, though my tablet is
not one of the paperwhite ones, so it's hard to read at times, like it bright sunshine.

But, what about a Kindle Reader channel for the Roku?

It would not be hard, as the eBooks are already available on the network at
Amazon. Here is what I think would work;

• The remote server does most of the real work making pictures of the pages, based
    on the Roku's set video resultion. Perhaps limiting the channel to 720p and 1080p so
    that the words are clear enough.

• If the user changes fonts or font sizes, then the remote Amazon server re-creates
    the eBook's page pictures and then downloads them to the Roku.

• On the Roku side, the channel / application would simply allow scrolling through the
    pages.

• Certain Kindle features may have to be supported oddly. For example, annotations
    or book marks may be stored on the individual Roku. So that if you have 2 Rokus, they
    would not be shared. Or perhaps they can be stored at Amazon.

• Last, if the eBook is large, (or perhaps this should be for every book anyway), only
    the current pages and near by pages are downloaded. Meaning if you are on page