Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How it works Roku Channel Categories?

Greetings.

I'm a newbie Roku developer, came here because I don't figure out how Categories (in Roku Channel Website) works.

Firstall I'm trying to choose the rigth category for my channel (is a Retro Video Games Channel with videos for gameplay, commercials, speed runs and stuff like this). I thought my first option was "Games" but when I check it out all channels are actually games (without any video), so I saw another option "eSport & Gaming" but is weird because sound like separetly stuffs, and I don't know if it the right place (I can't even find this category in the roku channel website, in fact most of the 38 categories in the Roku Channel configuration are not in the Roku Channels Webiste).

Another doubt: why exist channels with more than one category (for example:https://channelstore.roku.com/details/23333/pbs-kids)? You need to upgrade, pay or somenthing in order to access to this "multiple categories" option, because I can only choose one option. I need a minimun of feedbak in my channel? published time? how it works?

My Last doubt: is any way to pay for be in a premium category or something like this who help me to positioning my channel in a visible category? How can I improve this? I familar with google and facebook Ads, but I don't know if roku provide something like this?

Regards.

0 Kudos
7 REPLIES 7

Re: How it works Roku Channel Categories?

Hi @AaronMSpelling 

Thank you for your answer.