Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Davidb7236
Visitor

HOSTING VIDEO

Hi Team,

Quick question, I'm new at getting a channel setup and I was thinking about the hosting potrion. I looked around and all these companies are charging way to much for a small project i'm putting together. I was wondering if I can just host my video's on my server at home, I have the space and cablevision for internet or is there more to it?

Thanks
0 Kudos
11 REPLIES 11
onevoisses
Visitor

Re: HOSTING VIDEO

I am forwarding this article for you to read

http://www.serverschool.com/dedicated-s ... ed-server/

Most people do not understand the difference between a business and for private use.
If you are doing for a business then you need to weigh your cost against your benefits,that way you will not look at what most people are charging but how much you will make.

People charge for the cost of their service based on a number of reason,Capital,Labour and Machine, that is Man,Machine and Money.

So here are my recommendation

1.Check around here and research what people are doing.There is so much reference about this.
2.I would not even recommend the Shared Hosting Plans unless you know what you are doing,some do not allow you to stream videos or you might find a whole lot of problem with their "So-called" unlimited bandwidth,and even will restrict you if they think your content are copyrighted.READ THE FINE-PRINTS of your web-host
3.Do not complain about other charging,if you use your Home ISP you might find that you have violate your contract and get cut off.Some ISPs do not allow you to run a server on their network.Check your ISPs on what you can do and be clear again READ THE FINE-PRINTS.