Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
M_Babcock
Visitor

Background Listener

I'm fairly new to Roku development (though I have experience in XBMC and PlayOn plugin development; among professionally 7+ years in C++ and 3 in .NET), and I'm actually waiting for my XS and LT models to show up so I can dig into the Roku as a new toy development platform. I've briefly read over the docs provided by the SDK, and I think conceptually I have a grasp on what I need to do to get started. There is (at least) one general concept that I would have expected to be documented if it exists that is missing (from what I've seen at least): the ability to setup a background (service/daemon/etc.) process in the background to listen for incoming messages from external sources and raise events regardless of what is currently going on on the screen (display message boxes or otherwise interrupt the current session somehow).

Consider this hypothetical:

Let's say I wanted to create an IM/SMS app for the Roku which showed an incoming message on the screen (informationally only so no user interaction required) to let the person watching know that they've received a new message. It's a horrible idea in concept because it would become a horrible distraction if the user is any bit social (rather than preferring to be locked up in a closet with a laptop, a 12 pack of mt dew, and a bag of cheetos), but remember it is a hypothetical. To limit scope a bit, all of the IM/SMS communication would be facilitated through a server side process which worked the protocols (to keep the client thin), and the only job the Roku box has to do is receive the text to be displayed and display it for a brief moment.