Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tfritz28
Visitor

Another Newbie with questions

Hello, I'm new to Roku and love it so far. I'm interested in starting my own video site and creating a channel for it on Roku. I've been reading through the SDK material and think I have a decent grasp on how it works. I originally was going to have the videos in the .flv format because of the quality and smaller filesizes, but read that I would need to use .mp4 to work with Roku. So now I have a few questions.

1. YouTube uses the .flv format, so how did they get this to work with Roku?
2. After looking through the examples, I can see how to hardcode each file individually, but what if I want it to just read a directory and create the links automatically?
3. Does anybody have an example of my #2 question so I can see it in action?
4. How can I create a link for an upcoming event that would be streaming live and can that be automated as well or would that need to be hardcoded?

Thanks ahead of time,
Tony
0 Kudos
8 REPLIES 8
renojim
Community Streaming Expert

Re: Another Newbie with questions

I guess I'll take a stab at your questions.

1. YouTube uses the .flv format, so how did they get this to work with Roku?
YouTube also has the videos in mp4 format. I assume the YouTube channel is using that format.

2. After looking through the examples, I can see how to hardcode each file individually, but what if I want it to just read a directory and create the links automatically?
The usual way to do this is to create an xml file on your server from the directory and request that from the Roku.

3. Does anybody have an example of my #2 question so I can see it in action?
The examples from the SDK have examples of xml usage.