Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
oliver9000
Visitor

1000+ videos best practice

i'm a newbie brightscript dev with a question about displaying a high volume of videos. The client has 1000+ videos and maybe 10 categories. They want to use the grid screen to display them all by category. In theory we would have one giant XML file to parse with 100 or so episodes in each category. Are there performance issues with doing this? Should we be using a poster screen to cycle through the categories and then launch a sub screen? The client wants a flat navigation with as few clicks between a poster and a video watch. thanks!
0 Kudos
7 REPLIES 7
Gilgamesh
Visitor

Re: 1000+ videos best practice

"oliver9000" wrote:
i'm a newbie brightscript dev with a question about displaying a high volume of videos. The client has 1000+ videos and maybe 10 categories. They want to use the grid screen to display them all by category. In theory we would have one giant XML file to parse with 100 or so episodes in each category. Are there performance issues with doing this? Should we be using a poster screen to cycle through the categories and then launch a sub screen? The client wants a flat navigation with as few clicks between a poster and a video watch. thanks!

You should ask this in the developer forum as you will get more and better responses however: