Remotes

Learn how to reset a Roku remote, how a Roku remote works, or pair a new remote.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Olav1
Reel Rookie

Using Streambar without TV

I got my Roku Streambar 3 weeks ago, the main reason for buying the compact Streambar was to improve sound on my 32 inch Philips TV and to stream radio/music via Bluetooth directly to the Streambar.
Setting up the Streambar was easy and I'm happy with the improved sound quality on my TV.

I have connected my iPhone in Settings - Remotes & Devices - Remotes - Smartphones & Tablets.
It works ok to connect my with Airplay and Bluetooth to the Roku Streambar, but then the TV screen is on.
I would prefer to play radio/music on the Streambar with the TV off.

Is it possible to use the Streambar for the audio/radio without turning on the TV?

0 Kudos
5 REPLIES 5
RokuTakashi
Community Moderator
Community Moderator

Re: Using Streambar without TV

Hi @Olav1,

Greetings and welcome to the Roku Community!

We appreciate you sharing your inquiry with us. Fast TV Start is a feature of Roku TV that lets you listen to music when the TV screen is off, wake your TV, and perform various actions using voice commands. When Fast TV Start is enabled, your Roku TV always maintains the connection with it's built-in speakers or a Roku Streambar®, even when the TV is in standby. This allows you to use them to listen to audio content at any time, whether the screen is off or on. For more information regarding this, kindly refer to ous support article at this link: How to listen to music when the screen on your Roku TV is off

If you have further inquiries or concerns, please let us know.

All the best,
Kash

Takashi O.
Roku Community Moderator
0 Kudos
Olav1
Reel Rookie

Hi,

Thanks for your update.
I understand that Fast TV Start is a feature of Roku TV that lets you listen to music when the TV screen is off.
I got a Philips TV that I think do not support Fast TV Start?