Features, settings & updates

Get troubleshooting tips to configure your Roku settings. The community forum has tips for screen mirroring, Guest Mode, software updates, audio, and more.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
frosttr
Reel Rookie

Multiple HDMI Outlets On Streambar Option

I have a streambar and use the USB outlet for a pocket HDD I have videos on. The HDMI plugs into the TV, which leave me no additional outlets. I'd like to attach my DVD player's HDMI to the Roku so that I can use Roku to control the DVD player. I know that there are HDMI splitters, but will this work? Are there any other options so that I can connect the DVD to the Roku?

Thanks

0 Kudos
4 REPLIES 4
Strega2
Roku Guru

Re: Multiple HDMI Outlets On Streambar Option

Have you checked the TV all over?  Many TVs have more than one place with connectors.  Typically, one place on the side for quick temporary access and another place on the back with more connections for daily use. 

Banned but back. Because why not?
0 Kudos
makaiguy
Community Streaming Expert

If you really have only one HDMI port on the TV, you want an HDMI switch, not a splitter (although you can find some that can be configured either way).

Roku Community Streaming Expert
I am not a Roku employee, only a user like you.  Please, no support questions via private message -- post them publicly to the Community where others may benefit as well.
If this post solves your problem please help others find this answer by clicking "Accept as Solution.".

Ultra 4800 | Streaming Stick 4K+ 3821 | TCL Roku TV 43S245/C107X
0 Kudos
frosttr
Reel Rookie

Sorry, I wasn't clear in my question. My TV actually has 3 HDMI outlets, one of which is an ARC. The Roku streambar only has 1 HDMI outlet. My question is can I use a switch or splitter on the Roku streambar to include an additional HDMI outlet that I can plug my DVD player into?

0 Kudos
Strega2
Roku Guru