Premium audio. Made simple.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ThankGodItsFrid
Reel Rookie

Use Philips Universal Remote to control Roku Streambar Audio

Hello, this is my first time posting in this community, so forgive me if I seem to be a little naïve. I've previously bought this Philips remote. I wanted to use the side buttons of this particular remote to control the volume of my recently-bought Stream bar, but there doesn't seem to be a code for it as a soundbar in the manual, and typing in the Roku codes for AUD does nothing. I know this is a third-party product, but I was wondering if there is a way to set this up to control the Stream bar's audio (i.e. some codes I might not have known about, or some kind of remedy to accomplish this). If I can't do this directly, what are my options?

Trusting is being confident of what we hope for, convinced about things we do not see. - Hebrews 11:1
Labels (2)
0 Kudos
7 REPLIES 7
Tivoburkee
Community Streaming Expert

Re: Use Philips Universal Remote to control Roku Streambar Audio

@ThankGodItsFrid 

I never used that Philips remote, but you slide your Roku remote that does control the Streambar audio into the Philips remote, doesn't the side keys press the keys on the Roku remote in affect controlling the volume of the Streambar?

I know of no universal remote preset with CEC Roku commands the Roku Soundbar and Streambars remotes have mapped to the power and volume keys on their remotes. UEI made universal remotes under such brands as One-for-all, Inteset, Onn, and Insignia will give access to those commands after you map 5-digit codes for each command. UEI remotes give you access to advanced codes or EFC's, these are 5-digit codes for individual functions. UEI remotes have had these since the 1980's. I would return the Philips and get the Insignia 8-1 universal remote from Best buy its on sale at half price for $19.99: