Discussions

Is your Roku TV not working? Join our online community forum to find help with common Roku TV issues, get troubleshooting tips, and share your experiences.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Elliotff

How to connect new Roku tv to I ferner, don’t have a remote.

I recently bought a heavily discounted Roku tv from a major retailer. As a college student I thought it was a great deal but the tv didn’t come with a remote. After buying a remote not only will the remote not connect to the tv but I can’t even connect the tv to my wifi because of the lack of a remote. Is there any way to bypass this issue and make it so my Roku TV works correctly? The TV itself displays perfectly but I can’t connect it to anything due to its inability to connect to wifi

0 Kudos
2 REPLIES 2
AvsGunnar
Community Streaming Expert

Re: How to connect new Roku tv to I ferner, don’t have a remote.

@Elliotff 

You really need a physical remote to complete setup of the RokuTV.  The fastest option is to purchase a Roku Voice Remote from Walmart, Target, Best Buy. (about $20).

Otherwise, you can look on Amazon or Ebay for a compatible manufacturer remote for the RokuTV.  (ie. if this is a TCL RokuTV, you will need a TCL RokuTV compatible remote).  Many of these are available $8-$10.

With the universal streaming remotes available, you would need one compatible with RokuTV.  These are often different than your standard universal tv remotes.  Need to read the packaging for specific reference to RokuTV.  Even the ones that say compatible with Roku are sometimes meant more for Roku devices, and not the RokuTV.

Roku Community Streaming Expert
Just another Roku user... I am not a Roku employee.
Insignia RokuTV, Ultra 4660, Premiere+ 3921, Express 4k+ 3941, Streambar 9102

0 Kudos
makaiguy
Community Streaming Expert

Re: How to connect new Roku tv to I ferner, don’t have a remote.

@Elliotff-