Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RokuJoel
Binge Watcher

Re: roscreen grid

"NewManLiving" wrote:
My apologies first to the moderators for including all this code.

Posting Code is a good thing.

- Joel
0 Kudos
sanyam
Visitor

Hi,
I am a newbie to Bright Script and have to create a grid on roScreen.
The images I want to load are not very light so those will consume a lot of memory. So how do I load and remove images from cache?
I have some text with every image(its description) which needs to be shown below the grid. Is it possible to change the description when the grid is scrolled?
Also I want to use this grid at multiple places. So I want to know how I can encapsulate it.

This post is really useful for a kick start and I really appreciate the effort that was put to write the code with those awesome comments.

I would be really thankful if someone could help me with the points that I have mentioned.
0 Kudos
NewManLiving
Visitor

There are really no shortcuts
We are all still learning how to do these things better
First you need to learn BS. If you want to encapsulate then You need to have a
good understanding of how to encapsulate using a pseudo object which is simply an
roassociative array. You need to understand how a function name can be
A variable. You need to understand the limited scope of the m pointer
There really is no true encapsulation in BS. Notable attempts
Have been made to write code using a hash table or dictionary to implement
Some type of inheritance.
Then you need to understand how this version of the grid works if you decide that
This method will meet your needs. Once you do all that you will have answered
Your own questions. As far as memory management. The texture manager is a good