Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
EnTerr
Roku Guru

Re: What's ui_resolutions good for?

Wat?
It keeps getting quirkier and quirkier. So it is possible a Roku model can-do 1080p roScreen but it will lie to you about the actual display size (both GetDisplayMode() and GetDisplaySize() will) - unless "fhd" was manifested under "ui_resolutions".

I can imagine this is a backwards-compatibility concern. E.g. published app riding bareback
isModeSD = createObject("roDeviceInfo").GetDisplayMode() <> "720p"

But... documentation will have to explain THE HECK out of all these quirks. I am fairly well-versed in Roku SDK and i find it weird. Now imagine a complete novice face-planting in this garden...

Do at least the new functions GetSupportedGraphicsResolutions() and GetUIResolution() return 1080p - regardless of ui_resolutions presence or value, as long as the TV is in 1080? Since they are new and don't have to be be bugwards-compatible.
0 Kudos
bojancv
Visitor

+1 that all of this is really confusing for beginners.

I got a Roku Model 3800X, firmware 8.01 and really got confused with GetDisplayMode and GetDisplaySize returning "wrong" 720p values even though the Display Mode in the settings is 1080p and ui_resolutions is fhd.

And so the GetVideoMode does return 1080p, but what does this mean for my video streaming application? Should i stream a 1080p or 720p to the Video node in SceneGraph?

P.S. The latest Eclipse plugin doesnt event offer GetVideoMode() via autocomplete :), please update the docs in the plugin 😉 
0 Kudos
RokuNB
Roku Guru

"bojancv" wrote: