Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Fran_3
Visitor

What's required for Roku user to see a live video stream

I'm a newbie to Roku and maybe some kind soul will help me get a quick start...

1 - What is required for someone with a Roku box to see a live event streamed over the net?
2 - Must the "streamer" do something to make it available to everyone with a Roku box?
3 - Does Roku claim any rights to content?
4 - Does Roku put up ads during the stream? If so how? Lower third, at he begining, or what?
5 - If Roku requires permission to stream over their device is it hard to get?
6 - Must you be a code developer and create a special software application?
7 - Once on Roku will your stream be available to other digital media box's?
8 - In terms of market share... how is Roku doing? Any estimate as to how many homes the Roku box is in?

Sorry for all the questions... and I'm sure if I read long enough I can dig out all the answers but I'm hopeful tha someone will take a couple of minutes and give me a quick start.

Thanks for any help!
0 Kudos
1 REPLY 1
Anonymous
Visitor

Re: What's required for Roku user to see a live video stream

"Fran_3" wrote:
I'm a newbie to Roku and maybe some kind soul will help me get a quick start...

1 - What is required for someone with a Roku box to see a live event streamed over the net?
2 - Must the "streamer" do something to make it available to everyone with a Roku box?
3 - Does Roku claim any rights to content?
4 - Does Roku put up ads during the stream? If so how? Lower third, at he begining, or what?
5 - If Roku requires permission to stream over their device is it hard to get?
6 - Must you be a code developer and create a special software application?