Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
brocker
Visitor

Starting From Scratch - Advice Needed

Hi All,

I am brand new to BrightScript, but have spent the last 15+ years working with C#, VB.NET, Python, SQL and JavaScript etc. I've built many projects from the ground up, and always was able to get things done. I was recently tasked with creating a Roku channel as I'm the only one in my company that has VB.NET experience, and BrightScript is "similar" to that.

But, I have found it extremely hard to start working with BrightScript. I have been going through the documentation, and the example projects, but I have to say, I have begun to dread working on Roku and BrightScript, simply because there really are NO tutorials on how things go together and why things are written the way they are. Yes, the documentation is extensive, but it's not very good in my opinion. No where are there tutorials on starting from scratch, NOTHING! Sure, the code is all written in the examples, but that doesn't tell me why things are set up the way they are, and to be frank, neither does the documentation.

For example, I had the "Simple Video Player" project open, and I see a "initTheme()" method. Looking at it, I see the line "app = CreateObject("roAppManager")". I search the BrightScript reference guide for "roAppManager" and nothing comes up. I search other documents, nothing. So, I'm left with a line of code that has no comments in the project, and so I have no idea what this is doing or the purpose of what "roAppManager" is. I know this is simple, but it's just a point of my frustrations.