Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mckayj
Visitor

Simple BrightScript Editor and Compiling question

Hello there,

I am extremely new to brightscript development, and at the moment would just like to modify some of the Roku example programs with my own video links, and then re-compile to upload to my private roku channel.

1. I can't seem to figure out how to open the brightscript editor. I am on Mac OSX, but also have win 7. What is the easiest way to edit the sample .brs files?

2. Once I edit these files, how do I recompile them into the .zip which can be imported into my private channel.

Thanks so much for any help you can provide.

jay
0 Kudos
6 REPLIES 6
RokuChris
Roku Employee
Roku Employee

Re: Simple BrightScript Editor and Compiling question

"mckayj" wrote:
1. I can't seem to figure out how to open the brightscript editor. I am on Mac OSX, but also have win 7. What is the easiest way to edit the sample .brs files?

Any text editor will work. On OS X, I use TextWrangler from http://barebones.com/

"mckayj" wrote:
2. Once I edit these files, how do I recompile them into the .zip which can be imported into my private channel.

BrightScript is an interpreted language. There is no compiling. You can use any zip utility to package your channel. Take a look at Section 7 of the Developer Guide and the Channel Packaging and Publishing document in the SDK. There are also sample makefiles in the SDK that are helpful.
0 Kudos
mckayj
Visitor

Thanks for the help. Textwrangler worked great.