Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rsg
Channel Surfer

Sample Apps and boilerplates

Hi All,
I am new to Roku development but have some experience in terms of project management on other sdk's including boxee and Yahoo TV widgets.

I just looked through the sdk and various forum posts and sense a bit of frustration from some of the new developers that might not have the "advantage" of having a full time developing team making this application. And I totally "feel the pain". The development according to some of the posts is complicated and takes a long time.

I also sense that the included samples are just that - samples that really need to be customized in terms of function and design in order to be working and approved by Roku.

If that is an accurate statement, I'd like to offer a suggestion that Roku take the opposite approach to a "basic example" and make the examples as "tight" as possible. Hire a top interface designer that understands the brightscript interface in order to take advantage of the possibilities and create a "boilerplate" that could be used by many channels simply by substituting the branding (and assuming they have the correct streaming in place). Because what makes ROKU so brilliant is the simplicity. A user wants to find and play great programming. The other "bells and whistles" mean little and don't help the roku value proposition.