Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Schmye_Bubbula
Roku Guru

Roku API hooks to "Enable selecting all resolutions"?

With June 2016's firmware update 7.2, "Enable selecting all resolutions" was abruptly removed from Platform Secret Screen > System Operations Menu. (Home 5x, FF, Play, RW, Play, FF) The capability still is in the hardware, but evidently the Roku powers-that-be are bound and determined not to reinstate user-access to it.

1) Do documented API hooks exist to "Enable selecting all resolutions" such that a simple one-trick pony channel might be dashed-off to turn it on? (I am not a programmer.)

2) Failing that, there at least used to be a way to telnet into a Roku's IP address on port 8085 to do things like sending remote control key-presses. Is there a telnet command to toggle "Enable selecting all resolutions"?

3) Failing that, is there such thing as a pre-v7.2 firmware installer, or in the form of a channel (if it even can work that way), to be side-loaded if necessary, to roll-back the firmware temporarily, just so we can set “Enable selecting all resolutions”? Of course we would promptly get auto-updated again, but we would have enough time to do the deed, and have the installer or channel on-hand if needed again.

4) Failing that, here’s an idea: Roku Support sets up a webpage to enter our Roku serial number and it pushes-out "Enable selecting all resolutions." This way, Roku retains complete control, and eliminates incentive for us to find a hack. Win-win, everybody happy!
– –
Roku 3 (4200) purchased for $22.93 on clearance at Office Depot > Bleiden HDMI-to-Composite converter > old 4:3 CRT TV (now in another room, as I have acquired a modern LCD flat screen TV, March 2017)

R.I.P. Roku XD|S (2100), Feb 2011–Apr 2016
0 Kudos