Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MarkConiglio
Visitor

Request: Remove Connect to Internet Requirement

Dear All,

My name is Mark Coniglio, and I am a media artist who recently used 3M Streaming Projector powered by the Roku Streaming Stick to create an interactive dance performance. In this piece, I was generating a live http stream interactively in real time based on activity in the performance space. This all worked great, and the ROKU SDK made it easy to accomplish using the SimpleVideoPlayer as a model.

(A review and photos of the performance are here http://www.herald-dispatch.com/news/briefs/x262021230/Troika-Ranch-presents-light-dance-performance.)

But what had me tearing my hair out was the requirement that the ROKU connect to the internet at startup. (As I understand it, the streaming stick must ping api.roku.com before it will acknowledge a valid connection.) We were performing at at university, and. as is typical at universities, their internet was locked down tighter than a drum with 802.1X security. To to get around their security and get the projectors online required a super awkward configuration of multiple computers.

So I'm giving my pitch here to add a way to remove the connection requirement, at least when the development mode is turned on. If I could have just turned on the stick and starting streaming my source, I would have a few less grey hairs than I do now. 😉