Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
joetesta
Roku Guru

Playback of files > 2GB

Hi -
I've been encoding content for roku using Handbrake for several months and just discovered a problem. It seems that files over 2GB will start to play, but I can't pause or jump around in these files. With my files that are as large as 1.9GB, I can pause and jump to anywhere and it will play right away.

I am using Apache 2.2.21

Here is the Handbrake command:
HandBrakeCLI -i /pending/$ID_full.vob -o $ID_2500.mp4 -e x264 -b 2500 -B 160 -R 48 -E faac -f mp4 -m -4 -O -2 -T -x ref=2:bframes=2:subme=5:me=umh

I know this is not really a roku problem since I have the same problem in the browser, but I'm hoping someone has knowledge about why this might be happening, or a suggested alternate way to encode the videos for roku to avoid this issue?

fwiw I've also posted this issue on the Handbrake forum here https://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.ph ... 79#p102879 but it seems pretty quiet over there.
TYVMIA
aspiring
0 Kudos
4 REPLIES 4
belltown
Roku Guru

Re: Playback of files > 2GB

I once had a problem in which my browser seemed not to be able to download files over 2GB. I tried using various download managers and still no luck. It seemed that any request resulting in large file transfers failed right at 2GB.

It turns out the problem was my modem/router. I was using a 2Wire modem with Qwest DSL. The modem firmware had been forcibly upgraded at some point, after which time large files just wouldn't transfer. They sent me a new brand of modem and that fixed the problem.

So, it might be worth trying to eliminate your modem/router as once possible source of the problem.
0 Kudos
RokuMarkn
Visitor