Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Arezth
Visitor

Opening a scene from a .brs that is not main.brs

Hi Forum,

I am new to developing for Roku. I was looking for a way of calling (open) a scene (or screen) from within a scene (from an "roSGScreen" object) that has already been called in the main.brs. For what I've seen, the scene or screen should be initialized in the main.brs 's RunUserInterface, because it is not initialized if I tried to create one in the scene's .brs that has already been loaded. Also, it would need to be passed to the scene that is open, but I can't figure out how. Can you point me in the right direction? An example would be deeply appreciated.
0 Kudos
4 REPLIES 4
EnTerr
Roku Guru

Re: Opening a scene from a .brs that is not main.brs

There seems to be general agreement amongst RSG experts that one should not try to use more than one Scene - instead use different Group nodes under the one and only scene. I.e. make your logical screens/scenes inherit from Group and replace one as a child with the other under the-one-and-only Scene. Or attach them both but flip the visible bit on each to transition
0 Kudos
Arezth
Visitor

"EnTerr" wrote:
There seems to be general agreement amongst RSG experts that one should not try to use more than one Scene - instead use different Group nodes under the one and only scene. I.e. make your logical screens/scenes inherit from Group and replace one as a child with the other under the-one-and-only Scene. Or attach them both but flip the visible bit on each to transition