Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
stitch1z
Visitor

Oof! I am a noob.

I can manipulate php, some SQL, and xml, but the Brightscript is really tough for me to wrap my head around.

As I understand, starting with some of the example channels can be sort of overly-complicated, so I was hoping someone here can tell me where to start.

Specifically, I don't know where (or how) to define and parse my xml "fields" in brightscript. Such as <category>, <title>, <preview>, etc. What should that BS file be called? What should be included in it.

I have a million other questions / issues at the moment, but if I could at least get some of the front-end and design elements in place, I would feel much better. Hope I'm not being a bother.

I am trying to decipher the documentation and examples, but it is SO MUCH information to take in, that I fear I may be over complicating the issues.

Thank you in advance.
0 Kudos
7 REPLIES 7

Re: Oof! I am a noob.

Which version of the SDK are you using? That will be helpful in calling out certain pages of the documents.
Also what type of channel are you trying to create? There are quite a few options (screensaver, video, photo, music) and each has a different approach and different demos to look through.

I'd strongly recommend starting with the Channel Packaging and Publishing guide and doing a very simple Hello, World script. It's not directly related to coding, but understanding the process of taking a channel from a folder of asset files and .brs scripts to something that shows up on your Roku via the channel store is a good groundwork to build from.
0 Kudos
stitch1z
Visitor

Thank you for the response!

I am using v2.9 SDK

I am creating a ppv video channel (like Amazon, EZTakes).