Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
elliott
Visitor

New to Roku

Hello all. I realize I am very new. I have been reading the post but cannot find an answer to my questions.

I have been trying to create a channel on Roku. I am not a programmer, but usually am a quick study. I have been packaging the example from the downloads (ted talks) from the videoplayer zip. Works fine.

I try to replace the info in the example with my content, but I can't seem to get it right. Can someone help me figure out how to change the examples into a working set of codes that I can package and upload so I can get my channel on Roku? I really appreciate the help. It is frustrating me that after all this time I still can't work it out.

Thank you.
0 Kudos
6 REPLIES 6
Jason_Kyle
Visitor

Re: New to Roku

I am also new to Roku and trying to determine how to get this working too. If you do figure it out, please let me know.
0 Kudos
RokuKevin
Visitor

When you're brand new to the Roku, the best place to start is with the Readme and Developer Guide. You will get a grounding in the Roku development process and pointers to learn more about BrightScript from the BrightScript Reference. Then you can start reviewing the example source code with the component reference in hand. As you modify the XML parser of the video player, keep the Brightscript Reference open to Section 4.5 and test your parser code expressions in the BrightScript debugger or make good use of print statements depending on your programming style....

Welcome to Roku Development and Good Luck!

--Kevin
0 Kudos
elliott
Visitor

Hello Kevin, thank you for a reply. Looks like a lot of people are reading the post, but no one wants to respond.