Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
zm3sichi
Visitor

Re: Metrics/ Reporting on Views

"destruk" wrote:
But the credit agencies already sell your information, so what more harm can be done? Your employer also sells your information too. The only way to truly be off the grid is to not live in a modern society.
http://redtape.nbcnews.com/_news/2013/0 ... -data?lite

Just do a google search and you'll find thousands of stories and verified articles about how this all works.

I know exactly how it works... As stated, I do it for a living myself (ie. capture/collect data and build warehouses)... 🙂 What I *don't* do, as a matter of "data ethics," is collect P.I.I. (also Google-able :mrgreen: ) and tag it to the data I'm collecting. I always collect "anonymous" or "aggregated" data that can't be tied to an individual identity. Thankfully, no client has ever asked me for that. If they ever do, I may have to decline that particular gig. Wouldn't want to risk damage to my business rep. or even a lawsuit by the client's own customers (equivalent of a HIPPA violation in the medical/dental world).

The "greater harm," depending on your POV, is that now there is (potentially) another "new" set of data that is so much much easier than before to collect, store, and tag to your identity, reliably (thanks to "technology"), and is available to anyone who's willing to pay for it, to "profile" you, for whatever purpose they choose... direct marketing, financial/bank decisions, hiring decisions, even legal/LEO stuff. "You are what you watch/listen to..." It's a gold mine for them, and another "bigger" hit, potentially, on your privacy rights.