The by-the-Book response Roku* people give is that Roku players are not designed for that. Optionally followed by a "go buy a BrightSign instead".
There is a silver lining in your second observation though - by keeping eye on one of the players attached to account, you can re-add the channel to all players if someone deletes it.
You can even write a script that can keep re-adding the channel periodically... No, scratch that! They broke that feature couple of months ago, viewtopic.php?f=34&t=90823