Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Travonisoft
Visitor

Is AsyncGetToFile truly Async if you have to wait on a port?

I have been developing for roku for several months now and one thing still boggles my mind.

Why name a method AsyncGetToFile if it is truly not Asynchronous? If i have to create a message port and put a wait timer on it for a message to appear then this is not Asynchronous at all. Why didn't the developers at roku think that it would be a good idea to allow image loading straight to an object and then it would appear whenever it was loaded? Am I completely lost or does the Roku Development team not know the meaning of the word Asynchronous. I develop for applications with iOS, Android, C#, and Java and never have run into a programming language that is as horrible as brightscript.

If anyone has a truly Asynchronous way to download images, please enlighten me.
0 Kudos
12 REPLIES 12
TheEndless
Channel Surfer

Re: Is AsyncGetToFile truly Async if you have to wait on a p

The async methods are asynchronous in that they don't block execution while they are downloading. If you share your message port across components, then you'll get notification of the download completing without having to block processing of other messages. For images, roTextureManager handles asynchronous downloading.
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
0 Kudos
Travonisoft
Visitor

Look, here is the issue.

I keep my images on an S3 server with AWS.