Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: How Do I Start Developing a Channel?

I would like to start a Roku Channel I think I'm going to use this site: http://www.rokuchanneldevelopment.com/ .Most of my present video and audio is here:http://rhodespoetry.com . I run a PEG channel TV show also.

I'm wondering do most channels post content that at least pay for itself in the beginning with subscriptions? They told me to expect to start out 200 gigs bandwidth. I'm probably going to use kickstarter.

Are there any lists of important business rules to follow?

What do you recommend I do above all? Note I'm not a coder although I have created web sites. They have indicated that site will be within my understanding to take over once it is running.

Here is my TV Channel: http://blip.tv/sanfranciscopoetry
0 Kudos
morning
Visitor

hello

i am trying to create a private channel for my roku, but my roku is an older version

when i wend to download the sdk, this is the file i downloaded RokuSDK_v41.zip

is this the correct version or do i need to download an older version of the sdk that will work with my roku?
0 Kudos
renojim
Community Streaming Expert

That one will work. There may be a few things that only work in 4.x, but there aren't many.

-JT
Roku Community Streaming Expert

Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution."
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Kudo.

I am not a Roku employee.
0 Kudos
morning
Visitor

thanks a lot, i am going to get to working on the channel now.

just did not wanted to create a channel and then have it not work on my old roku.
0 Kudos
TheEndless
Channel Surfer

"morning" wrote:
thanks a lot, i am going to get to working on the channel now.