Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
happymeal
Visitor

Help with drawText

Hello,

I'm new to Roku development and using Brightscript, but hopefully I'm not asking something that is too stupid. I've scoured the forums and documentation before asking and not come up with any answers yet. A lot of the examples that come with the SDK cover moving sprites, but none really appear to cover text

First of all, just a general outline of what I'm trying to achieve. I want to create my own text fields using an roScreen + drawText functions. I immediately noticed that the documentation stated drawText was expensive to render. What is the alternative to using drawText if my text is not static? I'm basically out to create something similar to the roPosterScreen without being restricted by its layout. i.e. when you use the arrow keys to move through options, the text updates.

I've managed this ok, however have come across my first stumbling block. The text spans across multiple lines, however drawText does not seem to want to draw it over more lines. Is it a case of having to draw each line of text independently using drawText? if so, are there any easier text components to use that handle the word wrapping for you? I've also noticed, it does not recognise the new lines or '\n' in my text.

I'll try not to add too many questions in my first post, but this would be a good start. Thanks in advance for anyone replying.
0 Kudos
6 REPLIES 6
RokuJoel
Binge Watcher

Re: Help with drawText

Hi,

I would decide how wide your text field should be, and take field.mid(maximum) and draw a second line of text there. It might be "expensive" in render time, but for what you are doing it is more than fast enough.