Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
enconwjc
Visitor

Development workstation?

To start, please note that I am a beginner when it comes to "programming" or in this case, I think it'd be called scripting. Regardless, I am entry level, so please bear with my elementary questions ...

I downloaded the SDK and printed the manuals. I have successfully installed the examples locally on my roku. Very exciting and looking forward to making some minor edits to see what I can do. {enter problems}

Remarkably, When I unzip one of the examples, and then re-zip it without editing it, name the NEW zip file the same as the Original zip file name (that I successfully uploaded) and it appears in the installer that it installed OK, but when I check my Roku, there is no new channel!! see video at http://vimeo.com/33256724

Moving on the Debugging (even though I dont have a new app installed) ... following the directions in the Roku Streaming Player developer Guide Section 8.1 (pg 16), I access my PCs command prompt and type in telnet 192.168.1.105 8085 and I simply get an unrecognized command error message. see video at http://vimeo.com/33256596

Well, thanks for your help and I apologize if this is overly simplistic. If it is a matter of setting up my Windows Vista Business SP2 as a "Developers Workstation", (ie. telnet, etc.) any direction would be appreciated. Looking forward to getting my first channel going!

-Bill
0 Kudos
4 REPLIES 4
RokuJoel
Binge Watcher

Re: Development workstation?

The video example you posted to Vimeo is so low quality that I cannot read any of the file names or folder names on the screen, so I can't really tell what you might be doing that isn't working. I can tell you the following: