Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Kev

Bookmark audio streams-Can it be done?

One word... AudioBooks; I have many, and I like the convenience of listening to them via Roku... except for the fact that if I don't listen to the entire recording in one sitting, I am stuck starting the file from the beginning each time - very annoying.
I've been searching for a Roku app with the "remember/resume", "fast-forward", and "fast-reverse" features for audio streams for some time without success. I am a retired IT professional so I downloaded the SDK and am considering building the app myself. I've been scouring the forum and, unless I'm missing something, have not found any discussions on the topic. I've run across the iTunes m4b format in my search - is this what I'm looking for or do I need to cobble together my own solution?
My vision is for a selection apart from Music, Video, and Photos called "Audio/Other" which would support the aforementioned enhancements and could be used for audio books, recorded radio broadcasts, taped lectures, etc. I would like to write/store the "bookmark" information to persistent storage on my laptop, making it available to any Roku device running the app on the network _unless_ that capability can be had by storing on the Roku itself.
I thought (PC+web server <-> Roku) may be viable as a personal channel solution.

Thanks in advance for any and all advice,
~Kev
0 Kudos
9 REPLIES 9
TheEndless
Channel Surfer

Re: Bookmark audio streams-Can it be done?

There's a reason you can't find any channels that do what you're wanting. The Roku SDK doesn't provide any method for seeking to a specific point in an MP3 file, hence the lack of a resume feature for audio in most channels.