Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jcalhoun
Visitor

Anyone know how many Roku boxes have been sold?

FYI, I also posted this in the general forum but thought it would be relevant to this one as well. Mods, please feel free to delete one of my posts if you like.

I am a developer and am pitching a channel idea to a company. I was wondering if anyone had an idea of how many Roku devices are out there in use? It would be nice to tell prospects that their channel would be available to approx. X number of devices.

Thanks in advance for all replies.jcalhoun

Private message
0 Kudos
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Visitor

Re: Anyone know how many Roku boxes have been sold?

1 Million+
0 Kudos
pjoshua5000
Visitor

Don't forget to factor in that a lot of people do have more than 1 Roku. Some might even have 3.

Hope this helps.

--Josh
0 Kudos

"pjoshua5000" wrote:
Don't forget to factor in that a lot of people do have more than 1 Roku. Some might even have 3.

Also don't forget to factor in that a single Roku device could be targeting multiple users. I imagine the majority of Rokus are set up as household content deliverers rather than personal content deliverers. That increases the number of eyes and ears that the company can reach with their content.
0 Kudos
pjoshua5000
Visitor

"RyanMarquiste" wrote:
"pjoshua5000" wrote:

Also don't forget to factor in that a single Roku device could be targeting multiple users. I imagine the majority of Rokus are set up as household content deliverers rather than personal content deliverers. That increases the number of eyes and ears that the company can reach with their content.

Touché
0 Kudos
coskel
Roku Guru

any update on this number now that its a couple of years later?