Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
stitch1z
Visitor

Add trailer link button

I hope I'm not being annoying with my posts. I'm really catching on to the how Roku works, but I'm still new to it.

Anyone know how to add a how to link a button on the springboard to a trailer (not the built-in 2 min preview, a totally different video)?

Thank you in advance!
0 Kudos
9 REPLIES 9
stitch1z
Visitor

Re: Add trailer link button

Curious if I am on the right track...

if msg.GetIndex() = 7
item.StreamUrls.Push(validstr(e.preview.GetText()))
endif
0 Kudos
stitch1z
Visitor

Still struggling with this.

I am using the videoplayer example as a source.

I have defined the <trailer> in my xml, but I have no idea how to parse this and play it when someone hits button "7". Do I put all of the code in appDetailScreen.brs or do I parse it in Showfeed.brs and somehow refer to it in appDetailScreen?

Do I use the showVideoScreen or not? Ugh. This is kicking my butt. lol
0 Kudos
stitch1z
Visitor

I realize that I am talking to myself for the mostpart, but just in case any of you frighteningly intelligent folks wish to chime in, I'm trying this now, which I would think should be on the right track... ?

if msg.GetIndex() = 7
Function showVideoScreen(movie As Object)
screen = CreateObject("roVideoScreen")
movie.Stream = { url:"http://video.ted.com/talks/podcast/ElizabethGilbert_2009_480.mp4",
contentid:"mycontent-2000"
}
screen.SetContent(movie)
screen.SetMessagePort(port)
screen.Show()
End Function
endif

Obviously, I wouldn't use the actual url in the brightscript like that, but at this point I am trying to isolate where I am going wrong. Once I get the function to work with a hardcoded url in the brightscript, I will tackle parsing it from an xml file.