Roku Developer Program

Join our online forum to talk to Roku developers and fellow channel creators. Ask questions, share tips with the community, and find helpful resources.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Motorcykey
Visitor

Accessing a global object inside a SceneGraph Component

Hello,

I'm fairly new to SceneGraph. I have a library of methods, basically utility functions which I've created that I'd like to use in my SceneGraph components. Things like modifying arrays, make calls to retrieve XML from an HTTP service, and parse the XML.

After reading the documentation, it sounded like I should be using 'screen.getGlobalNode()' to assign my object of functions into a global scope that would become accessible to the SceneGraph component. However, when I take a look at the object, I'm attempting to access, all of the functions are defined as 'invalid' and attempting to access them will crash the app:

<Component: roAssociativeArray> =
{
    addfavorite: invalid
    analytics_parameters: "channel=23&sessionKey={0}&upc={1}&chapterId={2}&percentPlayed={3}&stopped="
    bcc: <Component: roAssociativeArray>
    calljsonservice_: invalid
    callxmlservice_: invalid
    checkkey: invalid
    checklogin: invalid
    checksubscription: invalid
    context: <Component: roAssociativeArray>
    getbookmarks: invalid
    getfavorites: invalid
    getkey: invalid
    getloginkey: invalid
    getloginkeybyuser: invalid
    getsessionkey: invalid
    login_key: "my_login_key"
    loginmode: ""
    logout: invalid
    registeruser: invalid
    session_key: "my_session_key"
    trackevent: invalid
    validateemail: invalid
    validatepassword: invalid
    validatereceipt: invalid
    validatetransaction: invalid
}

Any variables set on the object are accessible as I would expect, but the functions themselves are not. (Basically, anything listed as "invalid" up there.)